Dredging Memories

Music is a powerful thing.

It has the ability to pull you back through time, to places and memories you might have otherwise forgotten.

As a result, I store my memories in music. All of my music has an associated memory programmed into it. I listen to music to forge bonds in my mind between activities, places, and times.

It is the scale on which I measure the passage of my life.

Soooooo, now that I’ve got that out of the way, I’m heading overseas in a couple of weeks time to go explore Iceland. Thinking about travel, and music to listen to while traveling, I thought I’d take the opportunity to post a few songs I have strongly associated with my last trip abroad. In particular I have these songs uniquely entwined with Vietnam. I travel instantly to Hanoi and the night markets when I hear them. I can almost smell the streets, feel the thrum of a world away. I’m back on buses speeding through the night.

The Clouds Are Ghosts – Orbiting (2009)


 

The Clouds Are Ghosts – Impact (2011)


 

Dylan Frater – Madrid (2012)

Leave a Reply

